Skip to content ↓
Sir Harry Smith

Sir Harry Smith Community College

  • Latest News & Events

    STEM Event April 2016

    On Wednesday 20th April  we held a very successful STEM day for 53 of our year 9 students working on a smart building project to create a device to recycle rainwater. 

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Keeping the STEM theme, selected students then attended a family event on the evening of Tuesday 26th April (see attached pictures).  This time the teams had to decode a message and then use this information to remotely defuse a “bomb”.  To do so they had to build a contraption which was able to remove the correct wire only from the “bomb” from outside the cordoned off area.

    Did the parents have as much fun as the students?  Possibly!  They certainly came with a competitive spirit!

    The event was very kindly organised by the Smallpeice Trust, one of several partner organisations that the College is actively working with to promote STEM activities and opportunities for our students.  Our congratulations go to Laura Collins and Joshua Seekins who were selected to

    attend a 4-day residential course at Portsmouth University this summer to study Marine Technology, courtesy of sponsorship by ARM.  If you see them wish them well with this fantastic opportunity.

     

    Year 11 (B2, C2, D2) Science GCSE Revision Classes

    Date

    Subject

    Topic

    Thurs 22rd January

    Biology

    Cells and Photosynthesis

    Thurs 29th January

    Chemistry

    Rates and energy changes

    Thurs 5th February

    Physics

    Radioactivity     

    Thurs  12th February

    Biology

    Proteins and Enzymes

    Thurs 26th  February

    Chemistry

    Structure, bonding and electrolysis

    Thurs 5th March

    Physics

    Static and Circuit electricity

    Thurs 12th March

    Biology

    Chromosomes, DNA and Inheritance

    Thurs 19th March

    Chemistry

    Acids and Bases

    Thurs 26th March

    Physics

    Circuit and Domestic electricity & Graphs of Motion and Forces  

    Thurs 16th April

    Biology

    Biology Miscellaneous

    Thurs 23rd April

    Chemistry

    Calculations in Chemistry

    Thurs 30th April

    Physics

    Physics Miscellaneous

    Thurs 7th May

    Exam Technique

    How to successfully answer exam questions

    Mon 11th May

    Biology

    Biology final revision

    Tue 12th May

    Biology

    Breakfast Biology workshop

    Tue 12th May (pm)

    Biology

    Biology 2 exam

    Weds 13th May

    Chemistry

    Chemistry final revision

    Thurs 14th May

    Chemistry

    Breakfast Chemistry workshop

    Thurs 14th May (am)

    Chemistry

    Chemistry 2 exam

    Tues 19th May

    Physics

    Physics final revision

    Wed 20th  May

    Physics

    Breakfast Physics workshop

    Wed 20th May (pm)

    Physics

    Physics 2 exam