Skip to content ↓


Through studying Religion, Philosophy and Ethics, students will gain a deeper understanding of the world they live in. Students learn critical thinking and analysis skills and reflect upon moral, religious and philosophical issues.  Students will learn to produce a well-reasoned argument.  Students will examine the culture and spiritual side of life and grow in their understanding of humanity.

Years 7 - 9: Religious Studies

The Key Stage 3 Religious Studies curriculum aims to give students a solid foundation in the six major religions (Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism and Sikhism).  In addition, they learn about Humanism, secular and atheist views. We also aim to build key religious studies skills such as textual criticism, debate and critical analysis.  

Below is a summary of what students can expect to learn in Years 7-9.

Year 7:

  • Comparative Religion
  • Introduction to Judaism
  • Key Christian beliefs
  • Introduction to Islam
  • Introduction to Sikhism
  • What is Ethics?

Year 8:

  • History of Christianity
  • The early prophets in Judaism
  • Jewish practices
  • The Five Pillars of Islam
  • Hinduism: Reincarnation and Karma
  • Introduction to Philosophy

Year 9:

  • Understanding complex ethical dilemmas
  • War and Peace
  • Buddhist beliefs
  • Christianity in Britain
  • Humanism and secular Britain
  • Buddhist practices

Years 10 - 11: RPE

Students who opt for Religion, Philosophy and Ethics will follow the Eduqas GCSE specification.

  • Christian beliefs and practices
  • Muslim beliefs and practices
  • Ethics of Relationships
  • Ethics of Human Rights
  • Philosophy of Good and Evil
  • Philosophy of Life and Death

Students will be assessed through 3 exams which take place at the end of Year 11.

Sixth Form: Philosophy and Ethics

At A-level, students follow the OCR specification. The course comprises of three strands:

  • Philosophy
  • Ethics
  • Christian Philosophy

Students complete three 2 hour exams at the end of Year 13.